News

3Novices:Hong Kong’s handover was all gloom and doom for me for one night

I don’t know about everyone else, but I had a miserable night on June 30, 1997, when the world stopped to witness Hong Kong’s historic return to Chinese rule.
I had been assigned by the newspaper I worked for back then to cover the British colonial government’s farewell ceremony at Tamar, complete with grand military parades and governor Chris Patten’s last goodbyes. It went quite well, I heard, despite the rain. I wasn’t there.
What happened was that all…
June 10, 2017 at 01:32PM http://ift.tt/2rWuF51
#3Novices #News #OnlineMedia #China 3Novices China

Standard

Leave a Reply

